May 5th

About Blog Essays Poetry Art Other Projects

Kotatsu and Coffee

Not my art

That time of the year has set in now. The sun is brighter, the country is hotter, and the days are longer. Surprise, the Scottish introvert hermit hates the warm season. I'm expected to go out more, the heat causes my health to deteriorate, and worst of all, it gets in the way of my precious sleep. There's nothing worse than not being able to sleep under a big warm duvet at night. I suppose it's spurred me to look back at winter longingly, back when I was alone in my Dad's house and the snow was piling up. The house is very "out of the way" and because of that we have no internet connection out there. At the time we had no heating either. So I spent my time in my bed, with a hot water bottle, a mug of coffee/tea and my old thinkpad giving me warmth. My breath crystallizing to mist in the air as I worked through my downloaded uni lectures, programming ebooks, listened to black metal and worked through and my TV, anime and retro game backlog. It was so frigid I had to put my hands under the duvet and stop typing because my fingers were turning a frosty shade of indigo. Maybe it sounds hellish to some, but I loved it. I felt really comfortable, I miss it. I suppose that's why I decided I'd build a kotatsu this summer, I'm sure I can find a little table at a thrift store, probably filled with woodlice, and go to work on it. Maybe it'll make next winter just that little bit comfier, maybe it'll follow me in my travels to another, colder country when I'm older. Who knows.

I actually wrote a poem and a couple of pieces for the site over the past few days, but they're pretty extreme. I'm apprehensive about putting them up, I guess I've been having a rough time of it lately if I'm expressing myself like this. Maybe I'm just a bit shy about my work too, but that's whatever, it's not as if I've ever cared much for what people make of me in the past, if anything I actively tried to be subversive. Perhaps it's just that these pieces are honest, and that's not something I can say I've been in the past. I've also started programming again, I'm going to be focusing on C/C++ and Ada. Busy times ahead. I hope you're doing well as always, whoever you are, until next time.